Recount Does Not Change Outcome for Sturgeon Bay City Council

A recount of votes cast for Sturgeon Bay City Council in the 7th District on Tuesday, April 2nd did not change the outcome of the election. The recount revealed that Kirsten McFarlin-Reeths defeated incumbent Laurel Hauser by one less vote than what was originally registered, 247 to 245. The original margin was three votes. However, due to an error caused on the state level, a resident of the 6th District erroneously voted in the 7th District race. After voting, the resident contacted the City Clerk’s office, indicating that he believed he shouldn’t have voted. That vote was discarded bring about the final outcome.
McFarlin-Reeths will join the other newly elected council-members, Helen Bacon in District 1, Dan Williams in District 3, Gary Nault in District 5, and soon-to-be Mayor David Ward will make the transition from alderman, at a swearing-in ceremony at 3PM Friday afternoon. City Clerk Stephanie Reinhardt will administer the oath of office at city hall.

Posted in News | Tagged , , |

Comments are closed.