Nominees for Mariner & Coast Guardsman of the Year

The Door County Maritime Museum has released the list of nominees for the annual “Mariner” and “Coast Guardsman of the Year” awards. The recipients will be announced during the presentation dinner on Monday, August 7th, at the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club. The “Mariner Award” recognizes individuals who have had a significant positive and lasting impact on the Door County Maritime Community. One living and one posthumous award is presented each year. The living nominees for the 2017 “Mariner Award” Steve Brunstrom, Martha Burress, Dennis Hickey, Bill Parsons, Ken Schmidtke, William “Curley” Selvick, Tim Stern, and Todd Thayse. The list of posthumous nominees includes Minnie Hesh Cochems, Joseph Harris, Jr., Clifford B. Hart, Ingar Olsen, George Pinney, John Thenell, and Arthur Zuehlke.

The nominees for “Coast Guardsman of the Year” come from three local units, the US Coast Guard Cutter Mobile Bay, the Marine Safety Detachment and the Canal Station in Sturgeon Bay. They are Petty Officer Ross Hughes of Coast Guard Station Sturgeon Bay, Petty Officer Jacob Whitsell of the Mobile Bay, and Chief Officer Jim Condra(retired), of the Marine Safety Detachment. The men nominated exemplify the Coast Guard’s core values of honor, respect, and devotion to duty.

Posted in News | Tagged , |

Comments are closed.