Door County School Board and Town and Village Races

School Board
Five individuals, including three school board-members will vie for three seats on the Southern Door Board of Education in the spring election. Board President Chuck Bretl and incumbents Polly Alberts and Ken Warren will be joined on the ballot by Tammy Sternard and Kim Nowikowski. Two of the seats will feature three year terms and the other position will be for one year.

Three seats are open on the Sturgeon Bay Board of Education and three candidates will be running. The list includes board Vice-President Keith Miller and incumbent Amy Stephens and Teri Hooker. School Board Clerk Julie Hathaway decided not to seek re-election.

At Sevastopol, three incumbents filed nomination papers. They are Board President Sue Todey, Clerk Lisa Bieri and Assistant Clerk Bill Behme.

Three seats are open on the Gibraltar Board of Education and five people have expressed interest in the positions. They are Board Vice-President Martha Luber Pelrine, Treasurer Lynnea Hickey and incumbent Mark Weborg. Lynn Herman and Mike Ashley will also seek votes in the April election.

It looks as though the two open seats on the Washington Island Board of Education will be filled by write-in candidates. The incumbents, President Lisa Munao and Treasurer Tom Jordan, decided not to seek re-election, although Jordan has said he will serve another term if he is elected by write-in.

Towns and Villages
Except for contested races for chairman in two Door County towns and no candidates filing for Village President in Forestville, the April election Tuesday for seats on town and village boards will feature most candidates running without opposition.

In the Town of Gibraltar, incumbent Chairman Brian Merkel is being challenged by Supervisor Dick Skare, and, in Union, Chairman Dennis Counard faces the challenge of John Bur. Because of a misinterpretation of term limits in the Village of Forestville, Village President Terry Mcnulty will not be on the April ballot, but no one else will be either since no nomination papers were filed. It appears that there never was a village ordinance requiring term limits. So, write-in votes will determine the next Village President in Forestville.

Supervisory seats on the Brussels Town Board will be contested. Incumbent Mark Marchant and Galen Dejardin will vie for the supervisor one slot. In the Town of Union, Bruce Alberts and Donald Spude are running for supervisor one and David Jeanquart and Jeff Legrave are hoping to be elected supervisor two. In the Town of Sevastopol, Tony Haen is challenging incumbents John Staveness and Dick Weidman for a supervisory position and, in the Town of Egg Harbor, the race for supervisor one is between Terry Havel and Dale Wiegand. Bob Mueller chose not to run again.

Posted in News | Tagged , |

Comments are closed.