Champions Crowned at The Hill

A total of 80 drivers competed on Championship Night at The Hill Raceway on Saturday Night in Sturgeon Bay.   

Brett Wenzel and Larry Karcz Jr entered the feature tied for the point lead as the Stock Cars took to the track. An opening lap wreck sent David Ruetimann to the pits with heavy damage. Several cautions kept the field grouped together as Zach Spangenberg paced the field. Wenzel and Karcz traded positions several times as they battle amongst themselves inside the top ten.

A caution with 3 laps remaining set up a dash to the checkers. Dave Bouche pulled to the inside, taking the lead on lap 19, Spangenberg fought back on the outside. With the checker flag waving the duo made contact out of turn four, both drivers spun as they came across the finish line. Spangenberg was able to beat Bouche back to the stripe by a mere .050 seconds for his first career feature win. Sell placed third after starting 15th. With a fifth-place finish Brett Wenzel joined his father Jerry as a Stock Car champion at the Hill.  

Chris Budzban entered the night with a 17-point lead and was able to secure his second career championship in the Sport Mods.  The battle for the feature win was all Ryan LeMieux, who led from the drop of the green to build a straightaway advantage over Jeff Vlies. LeMieux was masterful through lap traffic and went unchallenged to score a clean sweep with his first feature win of the season. Vlies had a strong second place finish, Cody Rass was third, Bernie Reinhardt and Dennis Miesler completed the top five. David Ruetimann started 13th and finished 8th. The contest went green to checker.  

Dave DeGrave out dueled David Hoerning to score the win in the Street Stocks. Shannon Guelette had his best run of the season to place third, Chase Solomon was fourth and Dan Van Pay took fifth. Solomon won the title by 7 points over Van Pay.  

Scott Schlafke led every lap to pick up his third feature win of the season in the Bombers. Tony Everard collected his second straight title and now has 6 total championships at the Hill.   

Our final event of the season will be on Saturday September 7th. The Modifieds will return along with the Stock Cars, Sport Mods, Street Stocks and Bombers. The night will be capped off with the Trailer Race of Destruction.  

STOCK CAR FEATURE: Zach Spangenberg, Manitowoc; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Dan Sell Jr, Suring; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Brett Wenzel, Manitowoc 

SPORT MOD FEATURE: Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Cody Rass, Sturgeon Bay; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg 

STREET STOCK FEATURE: Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; David Hoerning, Grand Chute; Shannon Guelette, Brussels; Chase Solomon, Oshkosh; Dan Van Pay, Denmark 

BOMBER FEATURE: Scott Schlafke, Cleveland; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jordan Gracyalny, Kaukauna; Dallas Topel, Green Bay; Clint Malueg, Bonduel 

Posted in Sports | Tagged |

Comments are closed.