Sister Bay Wins Title

Sister Bay beat Egg Harbor in a one game playoff to win the Door County League’s regular season championship.  Maplewood beat Washington Island to grab the final spot in the postseason.  Here are the details:

Sister Bay scored three runs in the fourth inning and beat Egg Harbor, 6-0.  Winning pitcher Ryan Demmin tossed a one-hit, shutout with 13 strikeouts.  Sam Forkert had three hits and drove in three runs.  Dusty Johnson and James Larsen each had two hits and Demmin drove in a pair of runs.  David Jilot pitched the first five innings and took the loss.

Washington Island beat West Jacksonport, 6-5.  Washington Island tied the game with two runs in the sixth and then Ray McDonald hit a walk-off home run with two outs in the bottom of the seventh.  McDonald had three hits and Ben Johnson and Caleb Cornell each had two.  Matt Foss picked up the win in relief.  Woody Schartner took the loss for West Jacksonport.

Maplewood beat Washington Island, 8-nothing.  Calvin Falk tossed a complete game shutout for the win.  Mark Villers and John Price each had three hits for Maplewood while Al Karas, Chad Laluzerne and J.R. Pigeon each had two.  Caleb Cornell had two hits for Washington Island.  Christian Foss took the loss.

Sunday, August 28th (playoffs)
(#4) Maplewood at (#1) Sister Bay
(#3) Kolberg at (#2) Egg Harbor
Both games begin at 1:30 PM

Posted in Sports | Tagged , , |

Comments are closed.