Sawyer Wins DCL Batting Title

Sister Bay’s Tom Sawyer won the Door County League batting title with .440 average.  He totaled a league high 22 hits and scored a league best 20 runs.  The Bays loaded lineup had four of the top seven hitters in the league and also featured a dominant pitcher.  Ryan Demmin worked 117 innings and totaled 177 strikeouts against only 19 walks as Sister Bay put together a perfect regular season record (14-0).  David Van Dreese (22), Ray McDonald (21), Woody Schartner and Jeff Sperber (20) were the total hit leaders.  Craig Gunnlaugsson (4) and Sam Forkert (3) were the home run leaders as the league combined to hit 20 for the year.  The playoffs begin on Sunday with Kolberg at Sister Bay and Egg Harbor at West Jacksonport.

Batting Leaders
Tom Sawyer, Sister Bay .440
Woody Schartner, West Jacksonport .426
Ray McDonald, Washington Island .396
David Van Dreese, Kolberg .393
Tucker Emerson, Sister Bay .381
Stuart Larsen, Sister Bay .372
Matt Hecht, Sister Bay .358
Griffin Cole, West Jacksonport .353
Cody Giesseman, Institute .340
Jeff Sperber, Kolberg .333
Caleb Cornell, Washington Island .333
Kyle Ploor, Maplewood .328
Troy Jorgenson, Washington Island .326
Matt Petersilka, Institute .325
Jason Fuller, Egg Harbor .304
Nick Kita, Egg Harbor .302
Chad LaLuzerne, Maplewood .300

Pitching Leaders
Ryan Demmin, Sister Bay 117IP 177 Strikeouts 19 walks
Kyle Volkman, Institute 79.1IP 64 Strikeouts 31 walks
Dave Jilot, Egg Harbor 73IP 68 Strikeouts 31 walks
Kyle Ploor, Maplewood 69IP 28 Strikeouts 16 walks
Matt Foss, Washington Island 68IP 25 Strikeouts 29 walks
Amadee Savard, Baileys Harbor 65.1IP 26 Strikeouts 25 walks
Riley Cordier, Kolberg 63IP 60 Strikeouts 23 walks
Tanner Biwer, West Jacksonport 56IP 49 Strikeouts 6 walks
Woody Schartner, West Jacksonport 38.2IP 41 Strikeouts 8 walks

Home Run Leaders
Craig Gunnlaugsson, Washington Island 4
Sam Forkert, Sister Bay 3

Runs Scored
Tom Sawyer, Sister Bay 20
Caleb Cornell, Washington Island 16
Austin Rohe, Kolberg 15
Matt Hecht, Sister Bay / David Van Dreese, Kolberg 14
Josh Paul, Institute 13 / Jeff Sperber, Kolberg 13 / Tucker Emerson, Sister Bay 13

Craig Gunnlaugsson, Washington Island 15
Stewart Larson, Sister Bay 15
Nick Kita, Egg Harbor 14
Dusty Johnson, Sister Bay 13
Woody Schartner, West Jacksonport 12
John Price, Maplewood 11 / Jon Woerfel, Sister Bay 11
Jesse Miller, Kolberg 10 / Kyle Volkman, Institute 10 / Sam Forkert, Sister Bay 10

Posted in Sports | Tagged , , |

Comments are closed.