Kolberg Wins DCL Playoff Championship

The fourth and final seed in the Door County League Playoffs won two road games to take home the Fritz Woldt Memorial and Jeff DeJardine Memorial trophies.  Kolberg won at West Jacksonport Sunday to clinch the  DCL Playoff Championship.  Kolberg has won the playoff title three years in a row and six of the last eight seasons.  Here are the details:

Kolberg beat West Jacksonport, 2-1.  Bob Tenor homered in the top of the 13th to snap a 1-1 tie.  Tenor pitched the final six innings for the win.  Kolberg scored first as Travis LeRoy scored on a Chris Wery sacrifice fly in the second inning.  West Jacksonport answered with a run in the fifth as Cody Leist doubled and came home on an Eric Bley ground out.  Ryan Tanck took the loss as he pitched the final two innings.

Door County League Award Winners:
Most Valuable Player – Kyle Volkmann, Institute
Pitcher of the Year – Kyle Volkmann, Institute
Manager of the Year – Jake Peterson, Institute
Batting Champion – Ryan Tanck, West Jacksonport

Posted in Sports |

Comments are closed.