Door County League Playoff Championship

The 2011 Door County baseball season comes to an end on Sunday afternoon. Regular season champs Egg Harbor will host 3rd place Sister Bay for the DCL playoff championship. Sister Bay advanced by defeating Kolberg 13-9, & Egg Harbor topped Washington Island 9-3 last Sunday. Following the game the annual awards will be presented. The batting champion is Riley Spetz of Egg Harbor, who batted .515. The pitcher of the year is also from Egg Harbor, Rob Schartner, he was 13-1 on the season & led the league in strikeouts with 87. The manager of the year award will go to Sister Bay’s Clark Erickson. There are 3 traveling trophies for either the league champions or playoff champions, they are named in memory of special people from the league’s past, Leon Schram, “Fritz” Woldt & Jeff Dejardine. Game time Sunday is 1:30 and the game will be broadcast on WDOR, AM 910.

Posted in Sports |

Comments are closed.