Braves Repeat as Playoff Champs

Kolberg held off a furious 9th inning rally by Washington Island and beat the Islanders 10-9 on Sunday. The Braves held a 7-1 lead thanks to a 5 run/5 hit 4th inning that featured a double from Christian Counard and a two run single from Austin Rohe. The Islanders chased Kolberg starter Jake Schneider with 2 runs in the 6th as Caleb Cornell and Ben Johnson drove in runs to close the gap to 7-3 but the Braves answered with two runs in the 6th and another in the 8th inning for a 10-4 lead. Washington Island scored 5 runs in the top of the 9th inning on 2 hits, 2 walks, 2 HBP and an error– and made it 10-9 on a one out 2 run single by Ben Geiger but Tyler Neinas would get the next two batters to secure the win for Kolberg. The Braves also won the playoff title in 2021.

Islanders 9-12-1-14
Braves 10-13-1-11
WP- Jake Schneider, Save- Tyler Neinas, LP- Troy Jorgenson
*Schneider/Austin Rohe 2 hits/2 RBI, Nick LeCaptain, Charlie Neinas, Austen Dart- 2 hits
*Ben Johnson 3 hits, Ben Geiger 2 hits/3 RBI, Luke Geiger, Ryan Jorgenson, Ray McDonald- 2 hits

Post Season Awards
Pitcher- Trevor Reinhardt, Kolberg (79IP/100K/.78ERA)
Batting- Cory Fuller, Egg Harbor (28X58 .483 average)
Manager- Eric Bley, West Jacksonport
Lifetime Achievement Award- Eddy Allen

Posted in Sports | Tagged , |

Comments are closed.