Door County Spring Election results

As you might expect, the turnout was small for the spring election in Door County Tuesday as residents in several areas were confronted with uncontested races on several levels.

Door County Board

As we reported before, 19 of the 21 seats on the Door County Board featured uncontested races. Of the two districts that did, new supervisors were elected. In district one, encompassing the Town of Union and the Town of Brussels, ward one, Union Town Supervisor John Bur defeated former county board supervisor David Englebert by 18 votes…200 to 182. in district 16, incumbent supervisor Dale Wiegand lost to Jacksonport town Supervisor Randy Halstead…113 votes for Halstead… 72 for Wiegand. The district is made up of the towns of Egg Harbor and Jacksonport, ward one.

School Boards

The most activity for school boards among Door County’s five districts happened in Southern Door and Washington Island. Six candidates sought to win one of three seats on the Southern Door board of education. The top vote-getters were incumbent Pamela Parks with 759, followed by Katie Schnorr and Mike Toneys, both with 713. Finishing out of the running were Kelly Tassoul with 620 votes…Dustin Miller with 543 and DeanĀ Gerend with 514 votes. Two write-in candidates battled it out for one seat on the Washington Island board of education. The unofficial talley had Kevin Krueger finishing with 82 votes and Tim Garland with 77.


Two supervisory seats were open on the Sevastopol Town Board and incumbents claimed them. Dan Woelfel led the way with 306 votes and chuck tice had 246. Victoria Cerinich finished with 24 percent of the ballots cast or 178 votes. In the Town of Liberty Grove, one incumbent was returned to his supervisory seat, the other was not. The final talley indicates that Hugh Mulliken, who will soon leave his seat on the Door County board, defeated incumbent Gary Farber by four votes…253 to 249. Lou Covotsos led the balloting with 293 votes. There were also 11 write-in tallies.


Three trustee seats were up for grabs on the Sister Bay Village Board and four candidates were on the ballot. The two incumbents, Pam Abshire and Patrick Duffy, were returned with identical totals, 163 votes each. Nora Zacek claimed the third trustee seat with 133 votes. Virginia Phelan finished with 86 votes. Incumbent trustee Shane Soloman did not run.


Posted in News |

Comments are closed.