Door County Election Results

Southern Door School Board
Incumbent Steve Bretl was returned to his seat on the Southern Door Board of Education during spring election balloting Tuesday. Bretl was the top vote-getter with 1318 votes. The second of two open seats on the school board was claimed by Del Schmelzer with 1304 votes. Heidi Gutschow finished with 1239 votes.

Town Results
Write-in votes played a role in contests for positions on two of Door County’s town boards. For instance, the write-in candidacy of Larry Huber led to his taking an open supervisor’s seat on the Forestville Town Board. All that was needed was 22 votes. John Rader also garnered enough write-ins to snag a supervisor’s position on the Town of Washington Board. In other races, Mark Marchant bested Galen DeJardin for supervisor one in the Town of Brussels, 238 votes to 164. Joel Daoust finished 14 votes better than Jarrod Parks for the supervisor two seat on the Brussels Town Board, picking up 205 votes to 191 for Parks.

Three candidates were hoping to win one of two supervisory seats on the Liberty Grove Town Board. The top two vote-getters were Frank Forkert with 344 votes & Nancy Goss with 336. Michael Mercier finished with 296 votes.

Cletus Fontaine was defeated in his attempt to return as Union Town Chairman. Dennis Lee Counard had 193 votes & Fontaine 184. In the race for Union’s supervisor two seat, Ron Renard picked up 227 votes, Amanda Jeanquart had 145.

And, Joel Gunnlaugsson will continue as Town of Washington Chairman for another term. Gunnlaugsson defeated Gordon Jaeger by 145 votes…285 to 140.

Village Results
There were two trustee seats open on the Ephraim Village Board & three candidates hoping to get enough votes to snag one of them. Jane Olson led the way with 93 votes & will be joined on the board by Jim Stollenwerk whose 79 votes were nine better than the final talley for Michael Smith.

Terry Mcnulty returns as president of the Village Board in Forestville. His 119 votes were more than double the 55 received by David Miller. In the race for two trustee slots on the Forestville Village Board, Scott Pinchart had 96 votes & Don Londo 83. William Sperber picked up 52 votes.


Posted in News |

Comments are closed.