2022 Golden Heart Award Results

Wednesday night was the 2022 Golden Heart Awards ceremony for volunteers in our area, and that was held at the Sturgeon Bay High School auditorium. The two MC’s for the ceremony were Sturgeon Bay Superintendent Dan Tjernagel and Pam Seiler who recently retired from Destination Sturgeon Bay. Before handing out the awards for the 6 categories, Superintendent Tjernagel reminded everyone of the reason for the evening’s ceremony……..

Door County Medical Center CEO Brian Stephens handed out the award for Adult Volunteer of the Year which Superintendent Tjernagel reads that list of nominees here……..

The award was then given to all 7 nominees since the judges could not pick just one volunteer over any other. Then Shawn Linan of Noon Rotary presented the Youth Volunteer Award and $500 scholarship to Anna Olson for her work with the Boys & Girls Club, Adopt-a-Highway, and DC Toys for Kids. Scott Shepherd of WPS presented the Environmental Stewardship Award to both Marilyn Hansotia from Door County Land Trust and Guy Fortine and Judy Samida from Crossroads, this being the first year for a tie with that award. Paula Englebert of Nicolet Bank presented the Group Volunteers of the Year Award to all 9 nominees: the volunteers of the Door County Medical Center Auxiliary House & Garden Walk, the Door County Seed Library, the Habitat Re-Store, the Scandia Village Birchwood Art Project, the DC YMCA, the Miller Art Museum desk volunteers, Door County Candle volunteers, the Meals On Wheels program, and the 100+ Women Who Care of Door County. Then Superintendent Tjernagel read off the nominees for the Karl May Lifetime of Service Award……

Again, all 7 nominees received the award, a common theme for this year’s ceremony. Then Andy Boetcher of the Door County Medical Center Foundation presented the Essential Workers of the Year Award, and again all 12 nominees earned this honor. The recipents were the teachers and staff of every public school in Door County, along with St. Peter’s Lutheran School and St. John Bosco Catholic School. Special recognition was given to Sturgeon Bay’s Police and Fire Departments, Southern Door School teacher Shannon Finger, and the Door County Medical Center’s Michelle Johnson. Before the ceremony drew to a close, Dan Tjernagel and Pam Seiler also named all the volunteers who helped make the ceremony happen and expressed thanks to them as well.

Posted in News | Tagged |

Comments are closed.