Door County League Scoreboard

Sister Bay won it’s first Door County League playoff championship since 1988 by beating regular season champions Egg Harbor 12-11 on Sunday. Egg Harbor took an early 3-0 lead, but Sister Bay scored 5 in the 6th to take the lead. Egg Harbor tied it in the 6th, but again Sister Bay roared back with 6 runs in the 7th, & 1 more in the 9th to take a 12-5 lead. Egg Harbor made a game of it, scoring 6 in the bottom of the 9th, but stranded 2 as the game ended. Sam Forkert got the win for the Bays, James Larsen had 2 hits & 5RBI, Dusty Johnson had 3 hits & 3RBI. Egg Harbor was led by Tom Schmidt who had 2 hits including a homerun & 5RBI, Joe Sawyer had 3 hits, & Riley Spetz, Woody Schartner, Eric Dejardine & Jason Fuller all had 2 hits in the losing effort.

After the game the league awards ceremony took place. Riley Spetz of Egg Harbor was awarded the league batting title, Spetz hit .515. Rob Schartner of Egg Harbor was named pitcher of the year, he was 13-1 & led the league in strikeouts with 87. The manager of the year award went to Sister Bay’s Clark Erickson who led the Bays to their first playoff appearance since 1995.

Posted in Sports |

Comments are closed.