Door County Elections

Sturgeon Bay Common Council
There will be at least two contested races in April for seats on the Sturgeon Bay common council & a primary election will be needed in February to set the slate of candidates in one district. The city council approved the primary for February 21st after learning that three candidates are seeking the district two aldermanic seat. The list includes incumbent Ron Vandertie & challengers John Lodl & Cindy Weber. Lodl, who currently serves residents in the third aldermanic district, found himself in district two after redistricting was approved on the city & county level. His choices were to finish out his term in district three or run for the district two seat in the spring election. In district four, Rick Wiesner & Ken Fisher will square off for the seat currently held by James Abeyta. Abeyta decided not to seek re-election. Fisher represents the City of Sturgeon Bay on the Door County board. In district six, incumbent Stu Fett is running without opposition.

Door County Board
Barring a write-in candidacy, fifteen of the twenty one seats on the Door County Board of Supervisors will be filled in the spring election without opposition. In one of the contested races, two newcomers will square off. Another district will have new representation due to the current seat holder’s decision to forgo re-election. Here is a list of the contested races:
District 3 – Incumbent Patrick Olson faces challenger Roy Engelbert
District 4 – Incumbent Leroy Liebe faces challenger Mark Feuerstein
District 5 – Incumbent Paul DeWitt faces challenger Tim O’Conner
District 6 – Newcomers Tim Dawidiuk & Susan Kohout seek to replace Neal DeBaker who chose not to run again.
District 14 – County Board Chairman Leo Zipperer faces challenger Joanne Schley
District 15 – Incumbent Richard “Biz” Virlee faces challenger Kevin Wilke

The other newcomer is David Enigl in district 17 where Kari Anderson has filed her certificate of non-candidacy.

The spring election is Tuesday, April 3rd.

School Boards
Southern Door – Two seats are open on the Southern Door board of education & five people will try to fill them, which means a primary election will be needed in February. The list includes incumbents Lori Sampo & Dawn Starr, former board members Perry DeGrave & Chuck Bretl, & Polly Alberts.
Sturgeon Bay – Five candidates will be on the ballot & four seats are open. They are challengers Dick Steuwer & Amy Stephans, & incumbents Keith Miller, Steve Van Kirk & Julie Hathaway. Board clerk Lori Raye has decided not to run again.

The number of candidates matches the number of seats available on the Sevastopol, Gibraltar & Washington Island school boards so barring a write-in there will not be contested races.

Posted in News |

Comments are closed.