Cal Ripken Tryouts PPD, Registrations Extended

Due to the inclement weather forecast for this week, Sturgeon Bay Cal Ripken baseball tryouts will be postponed for one week.  Tryouts will be Monday, April 21st and Tueday April 22nd at Sunset Park.  Also, the registration deadline will be extended to Saturday, April 19th at 2PM at Appliances Plus- 3rd and Oregon in Sturgeon Bay.  The cost of a late registration will be $60.00.  Door County Boys … Continue reading

Posted in Sports, Sports Ticker |

Clippers Suffer First Loss

After scoring six or more runs in each of their first three games of the season, the Sturgeon Bay softball team struggled in a 5-0 loss at De Pere on Friday.  The Clippers were limited to just one hit and three total base runners as the Redbirds (4-0) Alexis LeCalsey retired the final 15 batters of the game.  Miranda Patterson had 3 hits and Carly … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

Eagles Edge Wolves

Southern Door opened the Packerland Conference softball season with a 2-1 win over Algoma on Thursday Night at Southern Door.  The Eagles scored both of their runs in the 1st inning as a Katie Miller single started a rally that led to RBI singles from Acacia Tupa and Hannah Mallien.  Mallien, a freshman making her first career start, went the distance for the win while allowing 5 hits … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

League Play Starts Thursday

The high school springs sports season has gotten off to a slow start, but the schedule is full of games for Thursday as softball and baseball teams begin Packerland Conference play.  Our coverage of the Algoma at Southern Door softball game begins at 4:20 with the Jorns Chevrolet of Kewaunee pregame show on 93.9FM / The Wolves are the defending Division 4 State Champions. The following schedule is subject … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

Cal Ripken Baseball Registration Deadline is Saturday

Registrations for the Sturgeon Bay Cal Ripken Baseball League and Minor League are now being accepted at Appliances Plus, 216 S 3rd Avenue in Sturgeon Bay.  Door County Boys who are ages 7-12 as of April 30 of this year are eligible.  The registration deadline is Saturday April 12th at 2:00PM.  Late registrations will not be accepted for either Major or Minor League.  Anyone with … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

Pioneers Lose Opener

Sevastopol lost to Green Bay West 4-3 on Tuesday in a non-conference softball game in Green Bay.  Sophia Pollman had 4 hits including an RBI triple and Jessica Wagner tripled and finished with 2 RBI’s.  Packerland Conference games are scheduled to begin on Thursday.

Posted in Sports |

DC Outdoors/ Program Specialist Allen Blizel

This week on Door County Outdoors, we had a conversation about commercial and charter fishing with Program Specialist Allen Blizel from the DNR office in Sturgeon Bay. In the last 25 years, the number of commercial fishing licenses have diminished from 150 to currently 56 boats on Lake Michigan. Blizel says that licensed commercial fisherman had a good year in 2013…[Audio clip: view full post to … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

Clippers Softball Plays Opener

The Sturgeon Bay softball team opened their season with two games at Riverside Park in Green Bay on Monday.  The Clippers beat Green Bay West 10-4 in the first game as Hailey Benesh (WP), Jackie Herlache and Molly Bordeau all pitched.  Natalie Marchant, Paige Kramer, Emilie Jorns-Frisque and Rachel Miller all had 2 hits while Marissa Ehlers doubled and Benesh tripled. Sturgeon Bay and Green … Continue reading

Posted in Sports |

Ask Thrivent Financial/ Savings Match

The Door County Team for Thrivent Financial & Financial Consultant Grace Rossman present Ask Thrivent Financial on Tuesdays & Thursdays at 9:55AM & 4:55PM on WDOR.  The topic of this program- Your boss won’t match your savings….now what?  Click the play button to listen. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and its respective associates and employees cannot provide legal, accounting, or tax advice … Continue reading

Posted in News |

Brewers Postponed Monday

The Milwaukee Brewers will have an unexpected day off today as thier game against the Phillies in Philadelphia has been postponed because of rain.  The series opener is now set for Tuesday at 3:05.  The Brewers completed their three game sweep of the Red Sox with a 4-0 win on Sunday.

Posted in Sports |